When the bad is not bad.

“I am bad and that’s good. I will never be good and that’s not bad. There’s no one I’d rather be than me.”
Imagine this line being chanted sincerely by all the video-game villains in a close circle with their hands crossing over the other?

Truthfully, I wanted to watch the movie- Wreck it Ralph- for the sole reason of Owl City doing its soundtrack but I didn’t expect for it to pull me back to the point that I have a dark need to write about it.

Simply put, the movie was heartfelt, nostalgic and just plain feel-good.

This movie was all about having fun, playing the game, giving up a lot of heart and a few smashing along the way. I love how they brought back video game characters from 10 (Fix it Felix Jr. from 30 years ago!) years ago and bring them all together in this contemporary setting of a few hopefuls who still go to arcades, insert coins and just enjoy the beauty of 8-bit or Pacman munching on fruits as he tries to avoid the technicolored ghosts that try to eat him.

I also love how there was no real clear villain in the movie because honestly villains are one of the main reasons why I prefer watching animated films at the comfort of home — so I can fast forward their devious schemes and move on to the good part.

I loved all of the secondary and all the -dary characters involved because they’re all so adorkably cute and funny that you just end up laughing and being smitten by your childhood and the effect it still has on you. I basically squealed when I saw Chun-Li walking down the game central station.

But all in all I liked how Ralph’s character was molded into the guy that everybody hates that you will probably end up loving more than anyone else. Hayyy I have a new favorite Disney hero.

I don’t want to spoil everything in this post because I highly want to create an impression that the moment you read this, you’re gonna text/tweet/chat one of your movie buddies to watch the movie because you need a good laugh, a good presentation on how you actually played games 10 years ago. – and how these games actually feel about themselves.

All I know is that at the end of the day I would want to go out to the dump-site and find this man called Ralph, give him his own medal and thank him for being the bad guy because for some reason I know that bad guys exist to make way for the good. The least we can do is to say Thank You. ♥

Hi. My husband also did the song for this movie so extra thumbs up!

Leave a Reply

